Best paper awards

The following best paper prizes will be presented at the plenary session Friday afternoon on August 30 after the keynote speech:

S.A.C. Capital Advisors, L.P. Best Conference Paper Prize (€3,000)

The S.A.C. Capital Advisors, L.P. Best Conference Paper Prize is the highest distinction awarded for an academic paper presented during the EFA 2013 Annual Meeting. Presented papers within any field covered at the conference will be considered for the S.A.C. Capital Advisors, L.P. Best Conference Paper Prize.

Prize committee:

  • Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University
  • Marc Lipson,University of Virginia
  • Robert Marquez, UC Davis
  • Henri Servaes, LBS
  • Pradeep Yadav, University of Oklahoma

Commonfund Prize for Best Paper relevant to Foundation and Endowment Asset Management (€3,000)

Prize committee:

  • David Chambers, University of Cambridge
  • Elroy Dimson, University of Cambridge
  • William N. Goetzmann, Yale School of Management

EFA Best Doctoral Student Conference Paper Award (€3,000)

EFA will present an award for the best paper on the conference program written by a doctoral student.

Prize committee:

  • Frans de Roon, Tilburg University
  • Avri Ravid, Yeshiva University
  • Pedro Santa Clara, Nova School of Business and Economics

2013 Spaengler IQAM Best Paper Prize

The 2013 Spaengler IQAM Best Paper Prize is awarded to the best paper published in the association’s journal, Review of Finance, and is to be presented at the EFA 2013 Annual Meeting.

NASDAQ OMX & CQA Doctoral Tutorial Best Paper Prizes

The best paper presented at the 2013 EFA Doctoral Tutorial will be recognized with the NASDAQ OMX Doctoral Tutorial Best paper prize sponsored by the NASDAQ OMX Educational Foundation.  In addition, the author will be invited to present her/his work at the Fall meeting of the Chicago Quantitative Alliance (CQA) to be held in Chicago in September 2013.


2013 Prize Winners 

Hadiye Aslan won the S.A.C. Capital Advisors, L.P. Prize for the Best Conference Paper.

Paul Calluzzo won the European Finance Association Prize for the Best Conference Paper by a Doctoral Student.

Thomas Gilbert and Christopher Hrdlicka won the Commonfund Prize for the Best Paper on Foundation and Endowment Asset Management.